“The reason for the continous teacher’s absenteeism in Uganda’s Public schools at a glimpse’

I am probably one of the few activists that commented at one point that most teachers in Uganda government schools are enjoying Government money for free yet continuously missing schools without valid reasons not knowing the harsh realities on the ground.

My teach for Uganda fellowship journey started way back in April 2021 with the recruitment, some bit of lockdown interruption, then four weeks virtual training on transformational leadership and a two months virtual and physical institute.

Then came 2022 when schools were finally reopened after one of the world’s longest lockdown. It took me a two day’s journey to finally reach my placement school. It was in the evening hours of 10th January when we reached only to realize that our accommodation were not sorted because its quite challenging to get good houses in the village .

I and my co fellow spent two nights sleeping in classrooms but what stopped me from making a returned journey to my comfortable apartment back home was the believe in the teach for Uganda vision that one day every child in Uganda will receive an excellent education and I knew that now more than ever the learners needed us because the long lockdown has crippled the education sector.

“Teacher’s absenteeism from a new angle”

So far, my two weeks stay at Kaluuba primary school in mayuge district has opened my eyes as to the real reasons why teachers absenteeism is so high.

Most of our teachers come from far and spend an average of 5000 to 8000 Uganda shillings daily to come to school which is quite expensive as compared to the salaries they receive. The school has no teachers quarters to accommodate teachers who come from far.

Some of our classroom blocks have also depleted and requires renovations as numbers of learners continue to increase and the good blocks remaining are not enough for the learners and no staff room as well.

Some of our fallen classroom blocks,part of it being used as a kitchen with no roof.

“Classroom experience “

Coming to my classroom experience in the first two weeks, I have to admit that now I believe that the thematic curriculum which requires learners in the lower primary to be taught in the local language is in a way doing more harm than good and makes it even more difficult for learners in the upper primary to adapt as local language is the language of instruction hence limiting their chances of competing with the learners from private schools and other schools in the city who speak and understand English well.

I spent the two weeks interacting with my primary one learners but none of them could understand simple greetings in English. And to my surprise even most learners in the upper primary section couldn’t Express themselves in English well.

My co teacher supervising our p.1 learners.
My co fellow supervising one of our engagements with the school and learners.

Adding onto the above, in the course of my interactions, I noticed a few of my learners fighting and pinching one another in class and my vision for the year started becoming more clearer because even in the community both parents and kids use the local language only.

And now I want “to create cooperative learning and train learners who can confidently express themselves in English at school and in the community “. I will continue to improve on this vision in this third week as I set clear goals to help me achieve it.

One step at a time the journey continues …. but now more than ever we need support from everyone, organizations, individuals and well wishers. Because teachers at my school need accommodation such that they stay near the school so that they give their fill time to the learners, and when our fallen classrooms are renovated, learners will have enough classes to accommodate them.

Thanks for reading, Act now and make a difference. NANCY ONGOM

6 thoughts on ““The reason for the continous teacher’s absenteeism in Uganda’s Public schools at a glimpse’

  1. Good write up Nancy! Those are the realities we face on the ground and yet few people talk about them. We are glad to have people like you who talk about such issues and come up with solutions to the challenges schools face. Well done and continue with the good work.

    Like

  2. I love the talk in ink..
    This really brings out who you from the inside.
    Good luck pls.
    Together we stand 👏

    Like

Leave a comment